Strawberry Summer Salad

Standard

I decided today it was time to roll up my sleeves and dust off this poor little neglected blog. Life has a way of getting busy when you have four little kids and a crazy summer schedule!

I wanted to share a summer recipe that I have been thoroughly enjoying. But let me tell you an adventure I had a few weeks ago with this very salad.

We had some friends over that we had been meaning to have over for some time. We had made some hamburgers, and I was making potatoes and onions in our iron skillet and throwing together my newest favorite recipe when they arrived. My hubby had cut lettuce from the garden, it had soaked, and I put it through the salad spinner at about 100 miles per hour before I began putting the salad all together.

We were all settled and were enjoying the evening when I noticed something funny-looking in the bite of salad I was about to take. Upon examining the specimen on my fork, I realized I was looking at a giant, caterpillar-like worm happily hanging out on the vein of my salad. This thing was huge-I am sure it was about 10 feet long. And it was bright green. Just like the lettuce.

So I did what any normal, reasonable mom of three boys (who tries to be cool with bugs so her men will be brave) would do. I screamed at the top of my lungs and flung the worm across the table to my husband who was sitting across from me diagonally. As it happened in slow motion, I saw the ginormous worm sailing above all the food with the piece of lettuce flying about him like Superman with a lettuce cape, and I am sure he flashed a grin back at me as he departed.

And so my husband, who has very good reflexes, caught my friend, and there was a moment of silence. And then we all got a good laugh – except for Mr. Worm. He wasn’t laughing when it was all over.

All that is to say a word of caution – lettuce from the garden may contain extra protein. I now run my hand down each piece of lettuce before I serve it. It was that traumatizing

If you are able to get clean, worm-free lettuce together, this salad is unbelievable. Seriously. A sweet friend of mine gave me the recipe that she got out of a church cookbook. (Those are the best!) And now, I make it at least once a week. It’s my new fave.

Without further adieu, I give you…

(Wormless) Strawberry Summer Salad
(Printable Version)IMG_2449

Shake and chill:
1/2 cup canola oil
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 cloves minced garlic
1/4 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. salt

Assemble:
A big ole’ bowl of greens
2 ½ cups sliced strawberries
1 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
1 cup slivered almonds (I just chop the raw ones I keep in the freezer)

Combine:
Toss dressing with the greens mixture just before serving. Enjoy!

Other serving options: Try blueberries or mandarin oranges instead of the strawberries, or serve it with sliced grilled chicken.

IMG_2454

Leave a Reply

