Read an Entire Book? Check!

Standard

On January 30th (with a whole day to spare!) I finished reading Educating the Wholehearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson. Yay! I was way excited to compete a book (all 376 pages, thank you very much!) – and I couldn’t have chosen a better book to kick off my reading challenge!

I loved soaking it all in – and I am pretty sure I underlined a fourth of the book! If you homeschool, or think you might, this is a homeschooling “textbook” of sorts with many helpful tips and insights. I plan to reread it again in the future, as I am sure I would get something more out of it the next time I get a chance to read it. (Book List 2014, anyone?)

I hope you’ve made a reading challenge for yourself. You wouldn’t have to choose as many (and certainly not as few) books as I have listed. Even one book this year could be a very rewarding goal! I once heard a wise man say that a busy mom could get through a 300+ page book easily by reading just one page every night before bed – how encouraging is that thought?!

And while you’re at it, what a great goal it would be to choose a book each month to read out loud to your kiddos! We read several books a month here because we homeschool, but even working mommas can enjoy some cuddle time with a great book and a sweet little one or two! We have just cherished the shared “memories” of the wonderful books we are reading! (Who can get enough of the Little House on the Prairie series?!?)

“Take a look, it’s in a book, a reading rainbow.” Oh that good ol’ Reading Rainbow song! Now that that’s stuck in your head, I’ll close.

Happy reading!

 

Below is a recap of my (perhaps overambitious) list of books I am reading:

JanuaryEducating the Wholehearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson

FebruaryGood and Angry: Exchanging Frustration for Character in You and Your Kids by Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller

MarchWordsmithy: Hot Tips for the Writing Life by Douglas Wilson

April For the Children’s Sake: Foundations of Education for Home and School by Susan S. MacAulay

MayThe Four Loves by C.S. Lewis

JuneKilling Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

July What Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast: A Short Guide to Making Over Your Mornings – and Life by Laura Vandekam

August The Discipline Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten by Martha and William Sears

SeptemberUncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

October When the Game is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box by John Ortberg

November Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin

DecemberCharlotte Mason’s Original Homeschooling Series: Volume 1 by Charlotte Mason

BonusHints on Child Training by H. Clay Trumball

Leave a Reply

