13 in 2013: A Book Challenge

Standard

I am not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions. I don’t think I have ever even made one. But January is a fresh time for new resolves and goals. Something about it lends to renewed starts and refocus.

So this year I have made a non-resolution to attempt to completely (key word here) read 13 books this year. I love to read but, since having kids, have failed to make completing books a priority. I don’t know if I have undiagnosed ADD or what, but I read a book until it bores me (or another book promises to be more exciting) and then add it to my large pile of books in process. I have a baby or two and then realize I have “been reading” some of the books for years!

And so I give you the books I want to read each month for 2013. I hope this can be an encouragement for some of you to make lists of your own. After all, in the words of Douglas Wilson in his book I partially read, Wordsmithy, you should “read until your brain creaks.” I love that thought.

January
Educating the Wholehearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson

February
Good and Angry: Exchanging Frustration for Character in You and Your Kids by Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller

March
Wordsmithy: Hot Tips for the Writing Life by Douglas Wilson

April
For the Children’s Sake: Foundations of Education for Home and School by Susan S. MacAulay

May
The Four Loves by C. S. Lewis

June
Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

July
What Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast: A Short Guide to Making Over Your Mornings — and Life (ebook) by Laura Vandekam

August
The Discipline Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten by Martha and William Sears

September
Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

October
When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box by John Ortberg

November
Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin

December
Charlotte Mason’s Original Homeschooling Series: Volume 1 by Charlotte Mason

Bonus Book (I downloaded this on Kindle to read when I steal a quick minute or two!)
Hints on Child-Training by H Clay Trumbull

If you take up this challenge, I would love to know what books you’re reading!
Happy Reading!

4 responses »

  1. I think with 4 children, that takes audacity, a sanguine sense of inhibition and and balls. You GO! What an awesome plan of action. Now, what I find amusing is that you actually made a list and categorized it by month. Sounds like something my engineer husband would do . . .

    I came here to subscribe. I hope I can figure out how, lol.

Leave a Reply

