My ho-ho-ho hiatus

Standard

I took a little ho-ho-ho hiatus from writing for a bit, and I have been eager to get back to it! Now that Christmas is over, I am able to breathe a bit…at least until January when we celebrate three birthdays in this house!

I should take this opportunity to write a little about self control…as I just ate an entire sleeve of Girl Scout Thin Mints as I was jotting some things down. (A sleeve really should be a serving size!) But, instead, I just wanted to show a few pictures of the projects I made for this Christmas. I so enjoyed giving homemade gifts, but next year, I plan to start in July! (I am not a procrastinator, so finishing my daughter’s pajama pants an hour before she was to open them was stressful!)

I hope you had a joyous Christmas with your loved ones!

Homemade Vanilla Extract
This a friend and I made a few months ago, since it takes a few months to cure. We ordered high quality vanilla beans and made it using a tutorial we found online.
IMG_0909
Recently, I found and printed a label from Style Me Pretty. I had to put mine on some printed paper because of the shape of my bottles. It was such a fun project, and it was a lot of fun to give!

Pajama Pants
I lamented the making of these pants in a previous post. They turned out okay. I learned a lot, so I hope to get better and faster at this next year. In the middle of fixing these pants for my husband (they were way too big and had to be sized down) my seven-year-old son asked why I was making girly pajama pants for my husband. That was a great vote of confidence! Incidentally, none of my boys have lamented the girly nature of these pants, but I haven’t seen my husband in them since Christmas Eve! I hope to have better luck next year in the fabric choice department!
IMG_0871

Can you see the ruffles on the little girl pants? I just love them!

Hand Towels
A friend of mine has the cutest hand towel she picked up from a craft store in Colorado. I decided it would be fun to make a decorative hand towel or two (or eight!) to give to a few family members.
IMG_0826
I purchased the premade flour sack hand towels from JoAnn’s, and then cut them in half and hemmed the edges. Then I added coordinating strips of cotton and edging. I used my Silhouette Cameo and some interfacing to cut out the birds and branch. I sewed around those with a zig zag stitch. Then I made some french knot eyes for the birds.
IMG_0829


Cornhole Bean Bag Toss
This is something my husband and I did together – he made the boards (designed them and everything!) and I made the corn bags. Since my husband and I are a divided household, we made them in Chicago Cubs blue (yuck!) and St. Louis Cardinals red (yay!).
IMG_0912
Our kids had a lot of fun testing them out for Grammie and Grandpa!

A-Frame Play Tents
For the wee ones, we (ahem, well, my husband mostly) made some tents for reading and sleeping. Our boys have slept in their tents every night we have been at home since Christmas! My husband designed these — they collapse completely, didn’t cost much, and were fairly easy to make. He can’t wait to show them how to make a giant tunnel out of these by placing them end to end!
IMG_0913There is just something so joyous about gifting something homemade! I can’t wait to make a few things next year…which is good because I think I shall start soon!

Leave a Reply

