DIY Advent Calendar

Standard

It’s hard to believe December has arrived! It always seems to sneak up on me, even though it comes at the same time every year!

When I was young, Christmas was amazing, warm, and magical. And now that I am a parent, it is even more so! The old adage is true: it is indeed better to give rather than to receive. I look forward to Christmas morning perhaps more than my kids do. I love to watch their faces as they come out of their bedrooms!

One of the traditions we enjoy is counting down to Christmas using an advent calendar. This year, I was inspired by an idea on Pinterest using old baby food jars. I just love repurposing items like this!

IMG_0679

 

Each year, we plan to use this to hide trinkets, verses, ideas for games to do and so forth. This year, we plan to hide little papers that include something fun to do as a family — activities such as singing carols around the piano, baking cookies, visiting neighbors, reading ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas, driving to see Christmas lights, reenacting Jesus’s birth story, baking gingerbread men, and going ice skating. (I’ll keep a master list so that I can prepare for the next day’s activity.)

If you want to make one, you will need:

  • 25 baby food jars
  • Spray paint (I used red and white)
  • Strong glue (I used E6000 from Hobby Lobby)
  • Letter and number stickers or cut outs
  • Paper circles
  • Mod Podge

Here’s what you’ll do:

  1. Spray paint the inside of the jars and lids. They may need a second coat. (Painting the inside will ensure the paint doesn’t scrape off in storage.)
  2. Paint a board.
  3. Glue jars to the board.
  4. Glue circles, letters, and numbers in the correct positions.
  5. Paint Mod Podge over the fronts of the lids and the title.
  6. Hide little trinkets, treasures, or papers.
  7. Delight in the memories with your kiddos!

If you get a chance to make one, I look forward to hearing how you use your advent calendars!

One response »

Leave a Reply

